Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Equipment questions

kfin

We have about 160 acres of timber / old farm land with awesome dirt, no rocks. Most of it is in the wetlands now. There would be a max of about 18 acres in food plots per year. Some clover on the levees, beans and milo mainly in the bigger plots, some ww plots in the fall and perhaps a few small brassica plots for the fall also. Open to others but have major equipment questions as a farmer I am not. :) The farm is about 5 miles down a gravel road from the house.

I have a 26 hp 4wd yanmar tractor with a 5' brush hog and a 5' yanmar tiller. This works fine but it sure does take a LONG time to till an acre with it. I also have an 8' chain drag harrow and a 10' brillon cultipacker (that needs a little work). I also have a 25 gallon boomless sprayer, a bag seed spreader, and a 4 wheeler.

Recently I have purchased a JD 4020 diesel 2wd and a 15' batwing bushhog 2615 shredder. Man did that speed things up a bit.

My question is what should I work the ground with? Should I buy a hydraulic disc for the 4020 and disk the ground several times? Disk it once and then go over it with the small tiller? Get a bigger tiller for the 4020? I would like to do it as efficiently as possible. Don't mind spending the time but sure don't like tilling an acre for 3 hours.

Should I get a planter of some type? Or a drill? Or just keep using the spreader?

Sorry for all of the questions but I want to get my info so I am ready for some good deals this winter when I find them.

Keith