Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Fixed Blade....OR Expandabes

CntryPride5608

this is my first year actually getting into bowhunting but ive been shooting bow for about 4 years now, i have a new bow and have it dialed in so to speak, got a blind all my camo and cover scents, and of course "the fever"...now i just need to decide on what broadheads to use, to help better your opinions the bow im shootin is a diamond widow maker 3 and i have a 30 in draw and my bow is shooting 63 pounds....just needed some ideas,
thanks
Joshua

I use muzzy, I like them because there cheap and good quality. If you want expandable I would say either swacker or rage only difference beteen them is rage might have a bigger cutting diameter.

I have been more than pleased with g5 Montec. They are solid broadhead that fly true and can be reused after a kill (my experience with muzzy is they are a one shoot broadhead due to thin blades).

I recommend both. If you plan on shooting alot of does then you definately want to have some good solid fixed that you can use over and over.(Wasp bullets are very durable) Personally I carry two of each. If you are sitting a field edge where you may shoot 40+ yds, I'd use an expandable. If you are sitting in tight corners where your shot is 20 or less with light brush around, I'd use fixed.

Just make sure you actually try them on a target before you hunt with them. I can get some fixed blades to fly pretty well. I like the slick tricks esp. I usually use an mech though. Some fixed blades are sensitive to form and torque and that can be hard to maintain 20 ft up when the heart is thumpin. There are trade offs to be made either way.

You mentioned that you were going to be hunting out of a blind. If it has shoot through screens, you'll need to use a fixed head. But whatever you decide to shoot, get out and try it now because it may or may not group nicely with your field points.

NWBuck

NWBuck said: