Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Ground Blinds

Shedhuntermd

PMA Member
Hey guys/gals, I have been thinking a lot about ground blinds recently. I normally am a you get what you pay for kind of guy, so yah I spend a lot on hunting stuff! I was walking though Wal-Mart over lunch today when I saw a Ameri step blind called the doghouse, it has shoot though windows 3D leafy camo, holds three people, weighs 14 pounds, has back straps, and sets up in 10 seconds. I was set on a double bull blind, but I figured I would give this one a try anyway. Being that I am new to the blind world, do you guys know the differences in the $79 dollar blind I just bought and a $500 double bull blind? And have you guys practiced shooting thought the mesh windows to make sure arrow flight is not affected?
confused.gif

The difference will be CLEAR when the wind is howling outside.

And yes, the shoot thru windows will have an effect. Close distances , no, but anything over 30 its a crap shoot. Plus I dont like looking through the mesh, makes it hard to aim when it gets dark...

zippers pop loose, sticks break, windows open from the outside, poor quaility overall. other than that they're OK....
shrug[1].gif

For 79.00 it's a great deal. the material is different that DB's and is a bit noisier. For that money you can also set it up and leave it there without living in fear that someone is going to steal a 500.00 blind. I've had my Outhouse for 6 years now and it still works great. I had the penthouse and it gave up last year after 3 seasons. That may not sound like much but it was up, out in the sun and elements for 15 months! Anyones fabric will give up after that much UV light, wind and rain. Have fun with it and enjoy your ground hunting.

ShedhunterMD,

As for shooting through the window, there are 2 important things to keep in mind.

1. Keep the netting as straight and tight as possible in setup.