Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Iowa rates second

Yeah, I noticed that in the paper today also. The usual enemies are quoted (Farm Bureau and insurance cos.). It was nice to read that the IA DNR was taking some form of opposing stance to the State Farm statistics.

Farmers around me are making hefty profits. Maybe the guy in Bloomfield farms next to a large hunt /video preserve? Then makes a blanket statement for the whole state. Drivers,,stay home more at night,, with your families. This make the Arabs less wealth, and you should enjoy more of what you pay in prop taxes.

I have never understood this complaint. Me and my criminal justice/police science professor have had many conversations about this. He hunts a little, but not a ton. He has never hit a deer with his vehicle. On the opposite side, his wife has hit 5 in the last 5 years. I have been driving for 8 years and have yet to hit a deer. I have came close, but have always been aware and had enough time to react. My dad is 52 and has yet to hit a deer. I know sometimes it is impossible to react in time or to see the deer before it is on the road, but I have witnessed many times where I saw the deer in the ditch(glowing eyes) and slowed way down. Usually if a car is behind me I tap my breaks a number of times to give out a warning. Only to never see their break lights come on and often to see one headlamp go dark. I have also been behind vehicles, one was last weekend when coyote spotting. It was mid morning, 11 AM, and we are following a buick lesabre on the highway. I see a deer flying across a field headed for the highway in front of us. I told my brother that the car was going to hit the deer when the deer was 100 yards from the road. The angle was perfect and the car never slowed once. The lesabre took out the deer in the dead center of the hood. No one was injured, but it is ridiculous. Maybe I am the bad driver, but doesn't any other driver i