Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Mathews Outback Owners...

DLO

Hey guys, wanted to see if this is occuring on your bow:

Bought an Outback a couple weeks before season opened. Shot 500+ arrows through it by season opener. As the # of arrows shot increased the string stretched a bit, allowing more contact with the string suppressors on each limb, making the bow a little noisy. Called Mathews and was told to put 8 twists in each end of the string. Did that but it didn't fix the noise or the amount of contact between the string and suppressors. Any advise?

If it is the original Zebra I would change it at Shotgun Break, or before if there are consistent problems.

Here's a pic [image]http://www.iowawhitetail.com/photopost/data/535/3000Suppressor.JPG[/image] of the suppressor that is making the most contact.

I am not a Mathews expert by any means but I would call that excessive wear. It looks to me like the serving is barely on there. Have you checked to see if there are any burrs or imperfections on the cam? I thought the string supressors are there to help stabilize the bow after the shot and to reduce noise. It looks to me like they are taking alot of abuse. A bow of that age..... I would send the pic to Mathews and have them verify and remedy the problem. Not telling you what to do but.....I would not shoot that bow with serving like that. I have seen several blow up and it is not pretty. At least re-serve it for the time being. Good luck, would like to hear your outcome.

the string supressors are to stop the string from vibrating after the shot (i can't see the pic) but from what rudd is saying, the supressors might be hitting the string early, and it sounds like they need replaced, and re-adjusted. i would DEFINATELY contact mathews and/or your dealer