Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Moon Phase ?

cdpurcell

I usually try to pay attention to the moon phases to plan my hunting. It doesn't always work out the way I would like one, because I am still trying to figure it out, two I don't always have enough vacation, and three I still like to hunt when there isn't a full moon or new moon.

My question is first has anyone looked to see when the second full moon of the fall is and is it really the third week of Nov. ? If it is then does that mean that will be when the rut will peak is the third week of Nov. ?

I am still new to the moon phases but I still think with all the research that has been done it does play a big fact in deer movement.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!!

Don't worry about the moon phase, be in the woods the month of November and you'll be ok.

The new moon is Nov 5th. That coinsides with the start of the serious rut. If i had only one week of vacation; it would be that week. Don't overlook the pre rut also. I have taken more quality bucks before the rut than i have during the rut. The only moon phase i like is the new moon. I believe the dark nights have the deer moving more during daylight hours.

I always hunt Halloween. And I took off November 5th - 8th. I am planning on trying to kill in the first couple mornings of the season.

Deer and Deer Hunting calendar calls for an extreemly late rut this year.

This is what I was seeing by the moon phase. I realize that you just need to be out there however I like hunting by the moon phase as far as my mental state. If I am not seeing much movement then if I know the full moon hasn't showed up yet then I understand why the deer haven't been moving.