Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Muzzleloader Cleaning

Shovelbuck

I'm curious...............................
How do you guys that shoot black powder substitutes from inlines clean your guns?
What about plastic build up from sabots?
Your tips and tricks appreciated:way:
Please also state which powder you are using with your cleaning technique.

Last edited:
I don't do anything special. Hot water and dish soap. I pull the breech plug and throw it in the bucket. I then take a 20 guage felt tipped ramrod and run it through the barrel a couple times. I then run 2-3 patches down it, even though it is usually clean.

I then let it dry and run a couple dry patches down it and remove any grease etc I see. Once she is dry, I put her back together and store the bleech plug out of the gun until I plan on using it.

I have never had a problem with plastic from the sabots. I have been cleaning mine this way for the past ten years and haven't noticed any corrosion or fouling of the barrel, so its good enough for me.

I use 777 and the hot water with dish soap as well. I'm kind of a cleaning maniac though, so I often run powder solvent soaked patches down the barrel as well, followed by a bristle brush with a couple patches wrapped around it. Sometimes foaming bore cleaner for the trigger assembly. Let it dry. Run some more patches. Also never had an issue with plastic buildup.

Breech plug goes into my hot water/soap bucket and later gets cleaned with pipe cleaners until every last speck of grease is out of the threads and primer hole. Then i regrease it and put it back in my gun if it's in-season. End of season it's outta the gun and dry.