Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Muzzleloader Question

F

fitzt

I am still New to Muzzleloaders.

I bought a Knight .50 Cal Disk 3 yrs ago.

Was just wondering what most of you use for a charge, (Anybody use 150 Grains) and if anybody has used the Power Belt bullets, and if so what Grain?

If you look at the ballastics sheet that should be included with your bullets, it should tell you how many grains of powder for each grain of bullet. The hornady bullets for example;

240 xtp;

using pyrodex powder at 90 grains, leaving the muzzle it will be .810 low

at 50 yards it will be 2.25 inches high

and at 100 yards it will be dead on

If you used this you would know where your gun was going to shoot at these yards, and it also helps if you are putting on some type of scope to get it where it needs to be.Check your box and see if they reccommmend anything.
I don't know for fact, but alot of people have said anything after 120 grains, then you are just burning it out the end of your barrel, and just waisting powder.

I have two Knight 50's and one is on two 50grain pellets, and the second is on the new triple seven sulfer free at 90 grains.I am only using the pellets for my son because thet are easy to dump down the barrel.After this year both guns will be on the triple seven.What a difference there is in cleanup.Triple seven takes only a fraction of the time.Smells better too.

I have played with several bullet/gun/powder variations, and it seems they all shoot better when the charge is 120 gr or less. I have a new T/C Omega on order, and can't wait to get it. I am sold on the Hornady XTP or XTP Mag line of bullets. They have done everything I have ever asked, and are a heck of a lot less expensive than those in the fancy packages.