Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Native Grass ?

baggin_bucks

For those of you who have planted or are familiar with native grasses could you give me your pros and cons on the following seeds, the following are going to be on a upland piece of ground that my father owns- big blue, indian grass, little blue, sideoats grama, virginia wildrye, western wheatgrass, and swithgrass. The second planting is going to be on my river bottom ground which can be wet at times Virginia wildrye, switchgrass, canada wildrye, western wheatgrass, red top, and big blue. I have looked at many books and internet sites and these seem like the best combo for our two planting sites. Any comments or suggestions on the above? I'm am new at this native grass stuff and anything you have to say would be helpful.
Thanks, Jeremy

I'm not an expert but the current issue of QDMA's magazine "Quality Whitetails" has a great article obout this very topic. Another great reason to join! I would consider getting ahold of your local nrcs office for help with this. A quote from the article states "for a thick stand tailored more toward thermal habitat and escape cover for deer, I would recommend a mixture of 3# Switchgrass, 1 1/2# each of Indiangrass and Big Bluestem, and 1/2# of Canada Wild Rye per acre." The article details preparing the seedbed over a year before planting, and matinence through out it's life.