rate for leased land??

B

bikeeagle

Does anyone have an idea what the going rate is for deer lease land?

5-10 for less desirable ground (small draws and more fields).

Top notch is closer to $20-25. I know some goes cheaper BUT average for the premium stuff is getting to $20 and over.

I'm glad I own land, my buddies do some leasing though whether you agree with it or not. I might lease a 160 in SE ia that I have no time for this year (I am swamped!!!) AND I have some major bills to pay for this stuff BUT I've never done that before, who knows.

I hope the piece you're looking at is TOP NOTCH and you get a good price!!! /forum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif

I've seen some go as high as 80 bucks an acre but the rates Skip mentioned are probally average. It's like corn ground...if two or more people want it...look out!

It's all about competition and I've seen things get wild and talk spreads like wildfire in small towns...you got what??? I'm gonna ask more for mine then!! /forum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crazy.gif

Yeah, I have buddies that hunt in Illinois and MANY talk about $50+ an acre ground for hunting. So there's a sweet 400 acre piece, I'm sure you'd have $20k just sitting in the wallet! /forum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif Finding a good piece is the hardest part though!!!

Oh man...times are changing fast...I pray for the children that don't have parents that secured land for them to hunt on.

Money, money, money......

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I pray for the children that don't have parents that secured land for them to hunt on.
</div></div>

Yea.. tell me about it... I can't tell you how many times I've BEGGED my dad to buy some hunting ground because I knew it was going to turn out like this. 8-10 years ago, it was easy to just get permission to hunt for free... That's almost non-existant anymore.