Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Rathbun Lake Public

180class

My dad wants me to take him on his first ever turkey hunt this season. I've got a buddy with a cabin down at Lake Rathbun. I hunted down there years ago with great success. I hunted private land that has now been developed and no longer available. Can anyone suggest a good piece of public land down there? I'm looking at the wildlife management area maps online and it really hard to get a good feel on which area would be best. I remember seeing a ton of birds on the North side of the lake so I think we'll stick to that area. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.

All I can tell you is that I hunt just north of the lake and bird numbers are down in that area from years past. I have been hunting that area for the past 25+ years and the last 5 years turkeys are down. With the good winter this last year hopefully they can make a improvement. I don't know if it is winter or predators or what that is a whole different debate. But going off years past and bow hunting in the fall I would say numbers are down. I can't say for sure about the numbers in southern Iowa this year because I don't live there and not in the area every day but can tell you what I have seen in the past few years. Good luck.

Thanks jj. What do you know about the Tyson Wildlife Area just West of Melrose? Good number of birds? Hunting pressure?

The bird numbers in Southern Iowa have been scary low where we hunt around Albia. I always had good luck on the Des moines River public from Boone to Saylorville. Birds all over if you look hard enough.

The bird numbers in Southern Iowa have been scary low where we hunt around Albia. I always had good luck on the Des moines River public from Boone to Saylorville. Birds all over if you look hard enough.