Recurves and Releases

Shovelbuck

It was recently asked of me in a PM if releases would work with a recurve. My first response was of course, but then thought that maybe a bit of history and what works would make a good post for this forum.

Back when I started shooting archery, in 1968, we called releases "Hooks". Simply because that's all they were. Nasty things that would go off at the worst of times for the inexperienced! One wrong twist of the wrist and the arrow was on it's way to who knew where. The top shooters in freestyle though had them mastered very well and were shooting 300's indoors with releases and basic pin sights. Then as it is now, the release shooters shot a bit better scores than finger shooters.
With that being said, there is nothing wrong with shooting a release with a traditional recurve. I will say that it would be darn difficult to shoot instinctively with one. If a person is going to use one, I'd recommend using a basic pin type sight and at least a flipper type rest instead of off the shelf. Todays trigger releases will work fine and just as with todays modern bows, you could choose a loop or not.
Some "Traditionalists" may frown on the use of one, but in reality, unless your shooting primitive equipment, there should be nothing incorrect about using them as they've been around for a very long time. Sometimes, finger or wrist injuries, arthritious, etc. can be a reason for using them. Whatever the reason, it's a persons personal choice if they want to try one or not.
Here's a few photos of some old "Hooks" from...
http://www.archeryhistory.com/releases/releases.htm

http://www.archeryhistory.com/releases/releasespics/pse.jpg