Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Spitfires

NWBuck

PMA Member
Hate to make anyone paranoid, but wanted to share an experience I've had testing some broadheads in the back yard. Shooting a 100 grain spitfire out of 68 lbs. with a 31" XX78 2317 I have had several occasions when one or more of the blades did not open. At first I thought it only happened after I'd shot one several times and it was a bit out of shape, but the last time it was a brand new head and 2 of the 3 blades were locked in on the back side. I was shooting a 2" dense foam target, so there should have been plenty of resistance to make them open. Certainly more than the body of an animal. I've had similar experiences with a jackhammer. I've been shooting mechanicals for several years now, but all of this has me questioning them all over again. Thoughts or ideas??

NWBuck

NWBuck,
My guess is that after that broadhead passed through the foam it slammed shut from the arrow stopping, I have had this happen on deer before and when I examined the hole. The blades did in fact open but closed after the arrow backed out. That has been my experience... Don't know if that is what happend in your case or not.
shrug[1].gif

Last year I did lots of testing with many mechanical broadheads. The Spitfire's were not consistently accurate. I then noticed the paper in front of the target had a star cut on some shots. It was opening up periodically in flight. I would be careful with high energy bows.

I've notice the spitfires close after going through a foam target but like Limb said "after examining the hole it was clear the broadhead had opened". Also with my setup 28.5 draw, 64lbs they are shooting exactly like field tips.