Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Spring Turkey Hunting Advice Needed

cjcolli

I have seen so many turkeys around this year and I think it would be fun to try and hunt them this year. I am looking for advice as far as equipment to use, calls, shells, where to set up, how to clean, cook, etc... I have never done this before so I am looking for just some advice.

Thanks

The easiest call to use in my opinion is the trusty box call! It is what I started with and I still kill turkey's with it. And as far as cooking them I grill the breasts!! Try it you will have a blast!

turkey hunting is awesome, i think you will love it. here is some pointers. im sure others will fill in too.

1. box call and slate call are the easiest to learn (my opinion)

2. remington hevi shot is the best shot out there (my opinion), but pattern your gun with many brands, every gun is different.

3. dont know about cooking, my mom does it for me!!

4. usually hunt ridges in the mornings or field edges where they will go. at night field edges or where they will end up roosting.

5. when they are gobbling in the morning try to set up as close as you can to them, i like to get about a 100 yards away. (again my opinion)

6. dont quit hunting just because its the middle of the day, usually the old toms will be done breeding in the morning and maybe looking for hens.

7. make sure to be fully camoflauged, they can see like no other.

8. dont call too much, if you know the bird is coming in.

9. hunt with a buddy and have him sit 40 yards behind you in case he hangs up 70 yards out from him and you are only 30 yards away from him.

10. have fun and be safe
smile.gif