Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Stupid

droptine37

Life Member
Made a rookie food plotters mistake last week. The only problem is I have been doing this for several years now and should have known better. Our beans have been hanging in there this year but between the lack of rain and deer browse they were really having a hard time growing. Of course this meant the weeds had more sunlight and I decided to spray a strong dose of roundup a day or so before our next forecasted rain. I had about 1 3/4 gallons of round up and used the whole amount evenly between two 25 gallon atv sprayer tanks. I also added what was left of our insecticide from last year in each tank. I was in a hurry and never figured what type of rate I was applying of the roundup or the insecticide but needless to say my decent looking bean plots are completely dead now.

Just a learning lesson for everyone that even when pressed for time you really need to slow down and make sure your doing things right. I thought that I was probably pushing an application rate of around 3 oz. per gallon of round up but based on the results I am guessing it was higher. Along with the drought stress my beans just couldnt take it. I need to re-read my insecticide label but I am also wondering if that might have been too high? Anyone know if you can overdo insecticide applications?

I still have two decent sized bean plots and one good corn plot that should provide us with some grain this winter. I will be putting my order into welters soon for dbl trees fall mix. Wasn't planning on having so much to do with our fall plots but I guess that's what happens when you get in a hurry.

Last edited:
Are you sure you had roundup ready beans? We spray 24oz/acre of roundup on our farm and sometimes twice that if the weeds got away from us.