Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

sweet corn

Hodge

I am going to try to plant sweet corn. I have never tried before, so with that being said. I want to till up a section in my backyard around 8' wide and around 30 yards long. Would I be better off tilling up the ground now (its grass now) and throwing down clover and letting it come up for a month or so and then till it under and plant the corn? I have leftover buckwheat from last year. Would doing the same thing with that work? Any input would be greatly appreciated

I am going to try to plant sweet corn. I have never tried before, so with that being said. I want to till up a section in my backyard around 8' wide and around 30 yards long. Would I be better off tilling up the ground now (its grass now) and throwing down clover and letting it come up for a month or so and then till it under and plant the corn? I have leftover buckwheat from last year. Would doing the same thing with that work? Any input would be greatly appreciated

Corn requires high nitrogen, so the fertilizer benefit of planting clover would be a start, but IMO, you would still need to add more.

So I'd till it now to kill the sod, wait, broadcast a commercial fertilizer (or manure) and tilling again right before planting.

I grew sweetcorn last summer. After reading and watching some videos I purchased a regular grass fertilizer that was nitrogen only around 24% nitrogen. Apply lightly and till into soil when planting then apply liberally in between rows when the corn is a foot tall and then again when you first see the tassels and or silk. Also water heavily after fertilizing. Make sure the fertilizer is between the rows so you don't burn the corn with too much nitrogen. If your stalks turn purple you need more nitrogen, if they turn almost yellow they are getting too much nitrogen . Hope this helps it worked great for me last year