Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

taxidermy cost

iatreehugger

PMA Member
I live in southeast Iowa, and I was just curious what a person could expect to pay for a good quality deer mount. thanks.

For a deer mount that actually looks like a deer......$400-$450.........Never take anyone elses word for the quality of a taxidermist.....go, look , and see for yourself their quality of work.

I wish a good taxidermist was still in the $300-400 range, haven't seen those prices for at least 5 years. I'm fortunate to have the current world whitetail master div. champ near me along with 2 other top notch outfits. Prices vary from $450-675, it's getting kind of crazy and yet they have to turn work away and raise prices about $50 a year.
_IMG_24522.jpg

Due to high costs, unless I shoot a booner I've been opting for the European Skull mounts for the past 5 years.

Got a friend in WI who is a 9 time National taxi champ, she's since retired from the competition and is now a judge. When I shoot a booner, it'll cost around $??? (my price, she owes me for transporting her 2005 elk) to get it mounted. . Her work is completely unmatched...I pray I can give her some business someday.

She does a lot of work for the Milwaukee museum.

Thank you all for your input. I was just wondering what the price range was that someone could expect to pay. You have given me some good ball park figures to work with.

I'm lucky enough to have a dad who used to do taxidermy. We do ours ourselves....run's about $40 - $50 for forms/eyes/ears