Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Turkey Strategy -Type of calling to do?

risto2351

Just wondering from you experts out there what you would do. A lot of the time I notice when I call real subtle and can see the hens they will take the Tom the other way. Kind of like they are jealous. I have a hard time bringing the whole flock to me even when I am cutting, cackling, etc. to the dominant hen. What would you do to bring the bird(s) to you?

In my oppinion, and I am NO expert by any means. Location is more important than any calling you can do, some will disagree with me and thats fine, it's just my feeling on this, especially right now with the toms henned up like they are, hunt where the hens want to go.
Later on in the day as hens leave the toms, or as the seasons go on, calling can be very effective. In the past, if the toms are henned up, I wouldn't even go out and start a hunt until 9-10 in the morning. I don't call much, I just advertise, later on in the day you can get a tom to respond to a call, he's looking for love. I've killed quite a few birds in the late morning, early afternoon hours, sure, it's not traditional early morning hunting, but it's a lot of fun nonetheless!
I have read a lot of articles on agressive calling tactics, I've tried them and have never had much luck in doing so. What works for me is subtle calling and not much of it, this works for me early and late in the turkey seasons.
Good luck!

Pretty hard to call a gobbler away from real hens. Your only chance is to somehow get the real hens "talking." Once you get them to hit a few notes, you just mimic what they do...usually this pisses them off and the boss hen comes a looking for the intruder. You just have to pray the Mr.Longbeard follows her in.

Best be in a situation like this is to stay planted and wait him out. He'll make off with his ladies and breed them. Once he's done satisfying them, he'll come looking for you.