Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Want to hunt Iowa trophies

Stu

I am a teacher and have been a member of iowawhitetail since early fall and really enjoy seeing the photos of many harvested Iowa bucks and reading many topics people bring up. Being from WI, hunting land is very precious. Where I live there are two areas of public land that I can hunt on and over the past 3 years, I have found there to be more bowhunters hunting there then there are whitetails let alone trophy bucks. I have also tried knocking on doors asking for permission to hunt, but time and time again have been refused. Either because someone else is already hunting there or because of bad past experiences with other hunters. I have one main goal right now and that is to harvest a trophy whitetail (130 or better) with a bow. My biggest problem is locating them. This year, a friend and I leased 120 acres along the Mississippi River in hopes to have a close encounter with a trophy whitetail. (I know what alot of you are saying right now about leasing, but it my options are very limited.) After many hours in the field scouting, hunting, using game trail cameras, etc. neither of us even saw one "shooter" buck. Here is my question for you. Does any one have any suggestions on me being able to hunt trophy whitetails in Iowa. I know being from WI, people from IA may not welcome me with open arms. However, If anyone would be willing to help a fellow bowhunter in any way shape or form, it would be greatly appreciated.