Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

what is the best to plant

ChasinTail

this is my first year planting food plots i would like to know what is the best to plant i have 3 different plots one of them is a 6 acre also have 4 acre and a half acre.

If I was only going to plant one thing....it would be soybeans. Hard to beat them since the deer browse them all summer and eat the pods all winter long. If you go that route, you can also broadcast some rye/radish/turnips/oats etc into the beans when they yellow for even more attraction come fall.

If you put in 10 acres of plots and do it right, you should be able to easily feed all the deer in a mile radius of there...and then some!!

Do you have a soil test done already? That is where I would start to see what you then need to get a good stand of whatever you are going to plant.

Yes i just sent the soil into the extension offfice today. thanks for the feed back looks like soybeans may be it

Yes i just sent the soil into the extension offfice today. thanks for the feed back looks like soybeans may be it

How many acres total are you wanting to plot? If you have 2 plots that are 10 acres (the 6 and 4 acres ones) then more plots, I would put at least one of the others in clover as its much cheaper and does not have to be planted every year like soybeans. Deer eat clover most, if not the entire year too. :way:

Yep, I'd do beans, plant them thick (230-250k per acre), hit hard with P&k & lime (soil test) and then broadcast turnips, radishes, etc like letemgrow says with some Urea right before a rain. I'd also be doing a plot or 2 (1/2 to 1 acre) of alice white clover (and maybe some others you like).

you guys broadcast turnips in your beans? how late in the year can you do this and still get a good crop by first frost? Will turnips grow everyear once established or do they need replanted every year?