Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Broadheads for Turkeys

liv4archery

PMA Member
I have no experience hunting turkeys with my bow. My father-in-law has hunted the last two seasons and has solidly hit two turkeys but was unable to recover either of them. It is frustrating him to the point that he is hesitant to hunt them with a bow. He has had complete pass throughs on both Toms but has been unable to recover the birds. I was wondering if there is a particular set-up that you guys are using as it seems that many of you are able to stop the big toms successfully with stick and string.

Good post!

I have been thinking about this a lot. I think I'd want something that hits REAL HARD and doesn't pass through. Maybe a mechanical with a large cutting diameter?? Rocket arrowheads has some insanely heavy mechanicals with like 2" cutting diameter. I've seen another brand in the past with a poduct designated as gobbler getter's or something like that.

What does everybody shoot?

this past year i've used rockets with good success. i think you need to use at least 125 grain broadhead if you shoot expandables. i'm going back to my muzzy's but am putting an adder blade behind them to keep 'em from going through. will be wicked. i want the broadhead and arrow to stay in the bird. i'll post a pic of what i'm talking aobut if i can remember.

Thanks for posting that muddy! I'd love to see a pic if you have one.

I took the time to look one up...those Rocket Buckblaster's just scream turkey hunting to me! They're almost obnoxious.