Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Looking for plot ideas/help!!

Doubleaarc hery

Okay Iowawhitetail experts!! Time to break in a rookie! I know it is pry early to start talking about this, but as a friend and I discussed, it is a "year long obsession"

I haven't posted much in this section about plotting because I don't know anything, but am doing a lot of research! and a lot of reading!! Big Rack Trophy Products has talked to me several times about their plot mixes and I was wondering if anyone else has used them!

I have never done plots before and this year I have two really nice areas I am planning to plant! So I am looking for advice!

The fields I am planning to plat are currently used periodically as bedding for the deer, it has been CRP for about 7 years now! One field is a small triangle that is flat with high traffic and is about 1 acre! This is in the middle of a travel route they use every morning for what I have seen!

The other is a large domed field! The center is high and it has a slight slope in all directions but a nice flat long top! The field is about 200 or so yards long and about 75 yards across with timber on all sides and an opening on the North east end that is only about 10 yards wide!

So here is the question. If you were brand new and were going to plot this how would you go about doing it! What would you plant and where! Would you plant different stuff in the large field?

I am open to all suggestions and my farmer is going to(don't slaughter me, this is all new to me) chisel plow the fields and then Plant for me!?!? Something about drilling and planting the seed that way??? Hell I didn't have a clue! I just nodded like I knew what he was talking about! Is that what I want him to do? HELP!!!

Here is a quick little map to show you roughly where the plots are planned! If you need more info let me know!

Thanks for all the help! Should be fun to hear the ideas!!!!!!!

Plots.jpg