Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

New Food Plot in Cow Pasture- fencing question??

Sligh1

Administrator
Staff member
So, I have permission to tear up a couple acres to put in food plots where it's now just Brome grass AND there is some cows in there. There's not many cows and it's 100 acres of brome.

My goal is to put up "enough fence" to keep the cows out while leaving as little fence as possible to make the deer feel totally comfortable hoping over it.

Could I do a single strand of barbed wire without making it electric? If I had to make it electric- detour the deer a little? I'd prefer not to have to do that and I'd have to make it a solar powered fence. Or, I could do double strand of barbed wire without electric. I don't know, I'm not a cow expert at all?!!?? The minimum for cows the better and if I can get away with no electric- great! And, I'd like to not have to spend much money at all! *Ideally I'd love to use a single strand of barbed wire with those tiny cheap metal poles, think it would work or do I need "beefier" set-up?

Just an FYI- it'll be clover, alf-alfa, annual rye and forage oats planted later on this summer, I suppose if enough cows broke over the fence they could kill it. THANKS!!!!!!!

Oh, I'm not planting 100 acres of course, more like 2 acres TOTAL, just to clarify!

Re: New Food Plot in Cow Pasture- fencing question

A cow gets what a cow wants........ /forum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif Just my opinion, but I don't think a single strand is going to be enough to stop Daisy from coming in.........especially without any wooden posts in. Better electrify it and hang some markers so they can see it. Not really sure the deer will appreciate it though.